classic infatuation

Kaila
1 min readFeb 8, 2021

I intended to write in an anonymous sense
but this appears to have circled back to us
I can tell you enjoy keeping me in suspense
so here’s whats flown out of the crux:

I let you re enter
as if you didn’t break me
a perpetual surrender
with no guarantee

you use me as a crutch
but I’m not your scapegoat
and while I’d love to keep in touch
i hope you take down these notes

you can go pursue what’s reflective of a challenge
but there’s a safety keeping me at arms reach
because you know I can handle all of your baggage
the worst of it has already been unleashed

I know it’s not always reciprocated
as I continuously open my love to you
i’m growing tired of it being manipulated
nothing more in our past needs review

for you my door is always open
but I’ve started living a bit more freely
in case our heartstrings don’t end up re-woven
because the next time, you will lose me completely

--

--